Home » Research » Public Papers - 1989
Facebook Twitter Youtube Flickr

Events Newsletter

Click here to become a member of our e-club and receive news about special events and offers.

National Archives

Public Papers - 1989

Appointment of Five Members of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome


The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome.

The National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome was established by Public Law No. 100 - 607 on November 4, 1988. The Commission has 15 members, 5 of which are appointed by the President. Of these five appointed members, three are the Secretary of Health and Human Services, the Secretary of Veterans Affairs, and the Secretary of Defense; and the other two are chosen from the general public. The members serve for the life of the Commission. Five members are appointed by the United States Senate and five are appointed by the House of Representatives.

Belinda Ann Mason, of Indiana. This is a new position. Since 1988 Ms. Mason has been president and a member of the board of directors for the National Association of People with AIDS (NAPWA) in Washington, DC. Since 1988 she has served as an AIDS educator and consultant, traveling throughout the country speaking to educational institutions, interest groups, health care professionals, and legislators.

David E. Rogers, of New Jersey. This is a new position. Since 1986 Dr. Rogers has served as the Walsh McDermott university professor of medicine at Cornell University Medical College. Prior to this, he was president of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in Princeton, NJ.

Richard Cheney, Secretary of the Department of Defense.

Edward Derwinski, Secretary of Veterans Affairs.

Louis Sullivan, Secretary of Health and Human Services.

George Bush Presidential Library and Museum
1000 George Bush Drive West, College Station, Texas 77845
Telephone: (979) 691-4000 | Facsimile: (979) 691-4050 | TTY: (979) 691-4091