Home » Information » Press Releases - [07-27-2005] Presidential Libraries Stamp To Be Dedicated At All Presidential Libraries And Museums
Facebook Twitter Youtube Flickr

Events Newsletter

Click here to become a member of our e-club and receive news about special events and offers.

National Archives

Press Release

Presidential Libraries Stamp To Be Dedicated At All Presidential Libraries And Museums

For Release: July 27, 2005
UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE -
What: The U.S. Postal Service is honoring the nation’s Presidential Libraries by issuing the “Presidential Libraries” commemorative postage stamp to coincide with the 50th anniversary of the Presidential Libraries Act of 1955. The First-Day-of-Issue ceremonies will take place at all of the nation’s Presidential Libraries and Museums. The museums and libraries are under the direction of the National Archives. The public is invited to attend these free events.
When: Thurs., Aug. 4 at 10:30 a.m. local time.
Where:
  • George Bush Presidential Library and Museum, College Station, TX
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum, Atlanta, GA
  • William J. Clinton Presidential Center, Little Rock, AR
  • The Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum, Abilene, KS
  • Gerald R. Ford Library, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Gerald R. Ford Museum, Grand Rapids, MI (also a noon ceremony at the American Philatelic Society’s 2005 STAMPSHOW in the DeVos Center, Ballroom D)
  • Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum, West Branch, IA
  • Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum, Austin, TX
  • John F. Kennedy Library and Museum, Boston, MA
  • The Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum, Simi Valley, CA
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum, Hyde Park, NY
  • Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum, Independence, MO
  • The Richard Nixon Library and Birthplace, Yorba Linda, CA, which is scheduled to become part of the National Archives’ Presidential Libraries system next year
Background: This stamp honors Presidential Libraries as unique centers for the study of the American Presidency and Democracy. Presidential Libraries give you the chance to see, hear, and participate in the events that changed our lives and made us who we are as a nation. As repositories for the papers, records, and historical materials of the Presidents, Presidential Libraries work to ensure that these irreplaceable items are preserved and made available for the widest possible use by researchers. Presidential Libraries also provide exciting museum programs and exhibits and a myriad of educational and public programs. You can learn more about the Presidential Libraries on-line at http://www.archives.gov/presidential_libraries

The Presidential Libraries stamp will only be available in the cities housing Presidential Libraries and Museums, Thurs., Aug. 4. The stamps will be available nationwide at Post Offices and Philatelic Centers Fri., Aug. 5.
National Contacts: USPS: Mark Saunders, 202-268-6524, cell: 202-320-0782,
mark.r.saunders@usps.gov, http://www.usps.gov

National Archives: Susan Cooper, 202-501-5526,
susan.cooper@nara.gov, http://www.nara.gov

(Individual Presidential Libraries listing with media contacts attached)
Presidential Library and Museum/USPS Media Contacts
George Bush Presidential Library and Museum
College Station, TX
http://bushlibrary.tamu.edu/
Library: Brian Blake
979-691-4069, cell: 979-324-8995
brian.blake@nara.gov
USPS: David Lewin
713-226-3278, cell: 214-557-6467
david.r.lewin@usps.gov
Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum
Austin, TX
http://www.lbjlib.utexas.edu
Library: Robert Hicks
512-721-0216, cell 512-663-6044
robert@lbjlib.utexas.edu
USPS: James N. Coultress
210-368-1632, cell: 210-823-6669
james.n.coultress@usps.gov
Jimmy Carter Library and Museum
Atlanta, GA
http://www.jimmycarterlibrary.org
Library: Tony Clark
404-865-7109
tony.clark@nara.gov
USPS: Michael Miles
770-935-5068, cell: 404-915-5861
Michael.r.miles@usps.gov
John F. Kennedy Library and Museum
Boston, MA
http://www.jfklibrary.org
Library: Brent R. Carney
617-514-1662
Brent.Carney@JFKLFoundation.org
USPS: Robert Cannon
617-654-5981, cell: 978-375-0988
robert.k.cannon@usps.gov
William J. Clinton Presidential Center
Little Rock, AR
http://www.clinton.archives.gov Library: Dr. David Alsobrook
501-244-2884
david.alsobrook@nara.gov USPS: Stephen Seewoester
214-819-8707, cell: 214-288-2910
stephen.a.seewoester@usps.gov
The Richard Nixon Library and Birthplace
Yorba Linda, CA
http://www.nixonfoundation.org
Library: George Savvas
714-364-1126
George.Savvas@nixonlibrary.org
USPS: Larry Dozier
323-586-1211, cell: 213-503-9428
larry.h.dozier@usps.gov
The Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum
Abilene, KS
http://www.eisenhower.archives.gov
Library: Colleen A. Cearley
785-263-6700
colleen.cearley@nara.gov
USPS: Brian Sperry
303-313-5132, cell: 720-244-5106
brian.s.sperry@usps.gov
The Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum
Simi Valley, CA
http://www.reagan.utexas.edu Library: Melissa Giller
805-522-2977, cell: 805-390-6405
mgiller@reaganfoundation.org USPS: Richard Maher
323-586-1717, cell: 714-307-0202
richard.j.maher@usps.gov
Gerald R. Ford Library
Ann Arbor, MI
http://www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov
Library: Kristin Mooney
616-254-0374
kristin.mooney@nara.gov
USPS: Ed Moore
313-225-5452, cell: 313-878-6343
edward.r.moore@usps.gov
Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
Hyde Park, NY
http://www.fdrlibrary.marist.edu
Library: Lynn Bassanese
845-486-7741
lynn.bassanese@nara.gov
USPS: Patricia McGovern
212-330-3307, cell: 917-837-0942
patricia.mcgovern@usps.gov
Gerald R. Ford Museum
Grand Rapids, MI
http://www.ford.utexas.edu
Museum: Kristin Mooney
616-254-0374
kristin.mooney@nara.gov
USPS: Susan Pfeifer
616-776-6139, cell: 616-240-7510
susan.d.pfeifer@usps.gov
Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum
Independence, MO
http://www.trumanlibrary.org
Library: Holly Milledge
913-707-1470
Dmilledge@aol.com
USPS: Rich Watkins
913-685-7521, cell: 913-638-4186
richard.a.watkins@usps.gov
Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum
West Branch, IA
http://www.hoover.archives.gov Library: Timothy Walch, Director
319-643-6029 or 319-643-5301
timothy.walch@nara.gov
USPS: Jim Stanley
612-349-4463, cell: 612-747-8061
james.m.stanley@usps.gov
George Bush Presidential Library and Museum
1000 George Bush Drive West, College Station, Texas 77845
Telephone: (979) 691-4000 | Facsimile: (979) 691-4050 | TTY: (979) 691-4091